Posted in Crochet, Crochet Patterns

Granny Apple or Adventures in Crochet Pattern Making

Let me begin by saying: I love apples 🙂 All kinds of apples. Any size, shape, and color. I feel like each time I have an apple, I think of my Grandma and her beautiful yard and garden in which, among other plants and trees, she had several different kinds of apple trees. I think of apple tree blossoms, and the little green and sour miniature apples (yes, my friends and I tried eating those on a number of occasions, most probably because a tiny apple in that stage was too cute not to give it a try), and the fully ripe multi-color fruit, mostly sweet and juicy. My sister, on the other hand, has never been a fan of this particular fruit, sweet or sower…would never have one bite…go figure 🙂

Anyway, I was playing with different shapes, working on my granny-style crochet ‘shapes and colors’ set, when I came up with a granny apple pattern. It came out pretty cute – – and I’ve been using my apples as coasters.

crochet-granny-apples
Crochet Granny Apple (c)mytrailinghobbies.wordpress.com

If you’d like to make yourself an apple coaster similar to one of these

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

you are welcome to use my pattern, which I’ve charted out HERE:

The Granny Apple can also be used as a sensory toy in your playtime with your little one(s).

I’ve experimented with the leaf and stalk shapes and sizes, yarn and thread size, color and pattern border. Try the pattern as is, then, if you wish, play with the placement of build-up chains and/or chains within rounds/rows, e.g. add a chain if you feel like having 2 chains in place of 1 in each corner, add 1 chain where there are none in between corners, or remove the single chains between every 3 DC in the initial round…to obtain your preferred shape.  As they say, there is no right or wrong in crochet; there is always a way that works best for you. Cheers!

Author:

Avid crocheter, enthusiastic knitter, amateur pianist, aspiring artist with an interest in world languages. Crochet & knitting symbol systems - languages more universal than Esperanto :) are my absolute favorite.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.