Posted in Knitting

The Last Straw, Upcycled

I was on a longish flight from point A to point B, with no project to work on, because I checked most of my stuff in an attempt to travel super light. A few minutes into the flight a lady across the isle pulled out her sketchbook and pencils and got to work – how fun! A little while later, another person, right behind her, got her crochet out – what were the odds? Reading the word “blog” on a random car in heavy traffic was sort of the last straw…and here I am 🙂

Speaking of straws, did you know these could make the best stitch markers ever for your knitting, circular or not? I was working on a large piece of lace knitting when one of the padlock-type markers snapped in the middle of the work for no apparent reason and I had no more markers left.  My mind rushed through a number of options, none of which were good enough. Then I found a bright colored straw in a kitchen drawer, which I immediately visualized as a set of perfect tiny round stitch markers slipping easily from one needle to the other. I highly recommend making yourself some of these DIY stitch markers and saving yourself some money and doing good for the environment by upcycling some plastic!!!

Upcycled Straw - DIY Stitch Marker

Additionally, these markers make the job of tracking your stitch count a breeze!!!

DIY Stitch Markers

Here’s my latest lace knitting designing project ‘featuring’ my upcycled straw stitch markers and the stitch count technique 🙂

Lace Knitting with DIY Stitch Markers.jpg

 

The lovely royal blue 2-ply pure (brushed?) wool comes from Lithuania; it’s a bit on a coarse side, but still very pleasant to touch (thankfully, I’m not allergic to this type of fiber). This yarn and the laminated birch circular needles – my new favorite – are a pleasure to work with, even in the summer!  ❤

Author:

Avid crocheter and knitter, amateur pianist, aspiring artist with an interest in world languages. Crochet & knitting symbol systems - languages more universal than Esperanto :) are my absolute favorite.

Leave a Reply

