Posted in Knitting

Bohemian Knitting

Literally.

I love this one book of lace knitting designs by Marianne Kinzel. Or, actually, both of her books. I wonder if she had more published… The author-designer was born and learned to knit and design her knits in Bohemia. I am in love with her floral designs. And, her books include both written instructions and symbol charts!

So, I decided to make a wall hanging of a lace knit flower based on her Thistle Design. I got some crochet cotton thread and a set of bamboo double ended knitting needles. I thought I’d complete about 30 rounds or so to get a nice size flower. I know, her design is too majestic to be only partially completed  for a mere purpose of making a wall hanging. But such was my idea. The first 2 dozen rounds worked up beautifully on the tiny bamboo pins, at which point I had to switch to a circular set of needles as the piece was outgrowing the size of my bamboo pins.

Bohemian Knitting 1

I placed the work on a set of these shiny sleek circular needles – I love the color and how smooth they are. Half way into the next round I realized that hadn’t been the best choice for the project. Cotton thread was getting caught on the join between the cord and the needle. This determined the size of my bohemian knit flower:

Bohemian Knitting 2

It’s not the first time that these lovely needles didn’t work with cotton. I’d previously had to unravel my cotton blend hearts:

Lace Hearts

They do work great with acryllic and wool. I have to keep that in mind each time I pick up cotton. They just look so nice and appear to be such a perfect match for cotton thread and yarn that I keep wanting to experiment, hoping that it’ll work better next time.

Well, for my next project, I’ll have to get a set of circular bamboo needles in this particular size. Time and time again, I come to a conclusion that bamboo needles are the best. I still love working with my colorful needles made from different materials, but investing in a complete set of circular ‘bamboo’ of all useful sizes appears to be a must at this point…

Although, I’m not sure if I’d change my mind if I tried a pair of Prym ergonomic knitting needles. I am hoping to figure out the best way to purchase one. I want to see if they work any better. They look super cool and futuristic 🙂

Author:

Avid crocheter, enthusiastic knitter, amateur pianist, aspiring artist with an interest in world languages. Crochet & knitting symbol systems - languages more universal than Esperanto :) are my absolute favorite.

2 thoughts on “Bohemian Knitting

Leave a Reply

