Posted in Crochet, Crochet Patterns, Needle Felting

The Chicken or the Egg? That and Yoga for Wrists and Hands

Well, the outcomes of my crochet experiment indicate that the egg comes before the chicken: first, you crochet an egg, and then you add on little colorful parts to make it into a chick.

Crochet Easter Eggs and Chick 1

When it comes to crochet design – the possibilities are endless. I am a big believer in techniques and projects that do not require too much time, yarn or tools 🙂 sort of minimalistic projects…I love it when I can sit down whenever I get a few minutes and using just a hook and a tiny bit of yarn, and, perhaps, scissors, make something cute and/or colorful and/or practical 😀

So, I used my fav double crochet stitching to create a few little Easter eggs, and a chick. I could have filled them with yarn, but I used fiberfill instead.

This egg here was crocheted in joined rounds:

Crochet Easter Egg 2

This one was crocheted in a spiral:

Crochet Easter Egg 1

I’ve experimented with different stitch count combinations. I’m hoping to get a chance to put the patterns in a presentable format to share with you, a bit later.

For now, here’s a quick pattern for a spiral crochet egg:

MC, (sc, hdc, 10dc) in MC; (2dcinc, dc) x6 (crochet over the yarn tail); 18dc; stuff with fiberfill or yarn in same color, (2dcdec, 2dc) x8; add more stuffing, 2dcdec x4; dc-hdc-sc combination decrease, sl st in next st; thread yarn tail through remaining stitches and pull to close top. Weave in the end.

For MC, I used a single loop magic ring, like the one I used in my crochet pattern Snowballs and Icicles in Color; you can look up the MC technique at the beginning of this youtube video here.

You can use any yarn with a crochet hook about a size smaller than what’s recommended on the yarn label. For this project, I picked out yarn that calls for a 5mm crochet hook and used a 4mm crochet hook.

This little chick was initially an egg, which I decided to turn into an egg that hatched, a little chick that is:

Crochet Chick

Here, the chick is waiting for siblings to arrive:

Crochet Easter Eggs and Chick 2

You can make a hanging loop to turn an egg into an ornament, and then weave in the yarn end tail. Oh, and one egg in there is needle-felted.

I was also looking into crochet and knitting project packing tips for travelers, when I came across some helpful info on redheart.com: How to Pack Yarn Projects for Airplane Travel, which included a link to info on stretches for wrists and hands: Stretches for Wrists & Hands. The article, medically reviewed by an MD, among other things, talks about Yoga for Wrists and Hands – a workout any arty-crafty person can use!!!

I’ve bookmarked a couple more posts on wrist, hand, arm fitness, because, even though I’d never thought of these types of exercises as essential, after longer knitting sessions I noticed I could really use some pre-knitting warm-ups and post-knitting stretching! So, if you love handwork, you may want to include a set of stretches in your arts and crafts and fitness routine. You can google this or you can look it up here:

Stretches to Do at Work Every Day (or “at Handwork” I’d say 🙂 )

http://www.healthline.com/health/deskercise#Benefits6

Hand Exercises for Knitters & Crocheters

https://www.craftsy.com/blog/2013/11/hand-stretches-for-knitters-and-crocheters/

TEN HAND AND SHOULDER EXERCISES FOR KNITTERS

http://www.dummies.com/crafts/knitting/ten-hand-and-shoulder-exercises-for-knitters/

Happy Crocheting!!!

Author:

Avid crocheter and knitter, amateur pianist, aspiring artist with an interest in world languages. Crochet & knitting symbol systems - languages more universal than Esperanto :) are my absolute favorite.

4 thoughts on “The Chicken or the Egg? That and Yoga for Wrists and Hands

Leave a Reply

