Posted in Crochet, Crochet Patterns, Home Accessories | Crochet, Home Decor Accents

Seasonal Crochet Crocheting Season

I can’t tell exactly why, but I have been enjoying crocheting very much. Whenever I have a few minutes to spare, I go for yarn of the color I feel like using in a given moment 🙂 and a crochet hook and produce whatever comes to mind. My crochet ideas appear like flashes, and if I don’t pay enough attention 🙂 or don’t have access to my yarn stash, they float away and then it’s really hard to visualize the idea I all of a sudden had or recreate it in fabric. I like looking at my yarn as a palette of acrylic colors, and at times, watercolors, and seeing hooks as brushes 🙂 But, when crochet pieces come straight from imagination and immediately become fabric, it maybe hard to recreate a piece or chart/write down the pattern. I have had to “reverse-engineer” my own pieces (and I only do it to my own pieces!!! 🙂 ) a couple times, which taught me an importance of taking notes before any of my steps, or strokes 🙂 escape my memory.

Anyway, I’ve made a “sweater” the other day for my Aloe plant. It’s been chilly, so I thought this sweater-like soft and warm pop of color home decor piece would make a nice addition to my fall 2016 crochet “collection”:

crochet-sweater-for-plant

This morning, I decided to make a fall theme square motif incorporating my pumpkin motif and elements of a motif from a book by my favorite author, Linda P. Schapper. I love her collection of motifs; the monocolor work allows full freedom for crocheter’s imagination to come up with any desired colorway. By the way, the first row of flowers in my plant sweater can also be found in her book of motifs. So, the center of my square motif is a pumpkin:

crochet-pumpkin-motif

I haven’t had a chance to make a chart for the motif, but I’ve recorded the instructions in writing, which you can look up here: pumpkin-motifs-1-2. You’ll find two motifs, mostly identical, but with some variations in Rnds 1 and 4.

Here is my square motif; I really wish I had taken a photo before I decided to moisten it to block; here it is, completely wet in its pre-blocking stage, and in a desperate need of reshaping and refluffing:

pumpkin-square-motif

I see a future placemat or a toy blankie in it 🙂 I might make another one with a lighter, more ‘airy’ border to replace the now dense dcs and trs, which are pretty good in their own way and go well with the ‘dc shells’ of the center piece. Cheers!

Author:

Avid crocheter, amateur pianist, aspiring artist with an interest in world languages. Crochet symbol system - a language more universal than Esperanto :) is my absolute favorite.

4 thoughts on “Seasonal Crochet Crocheting Season

Leave a Reply

