Posted in Crochet

Overcoming a Fear of Multiple Loose Ends

I’ve made a sample of Bird of Paradise, Frida’s Flowers, in size 10 crochet thread 🙂

Crochet-Motif-Bird-of-Paradise.jpg

It’s worked so well, I’m going to make the rest of the motifs in the blanket project in crochet thread too. I’d like to put together a miniature version of the blanket, but first, I’ll need to see how each motif looks in the size. The free pattern for the blanket can be found here.

The thing is, for a while, I’d been avoiding multi-color projects simply because I didn’t feel like weaving in multiple ends. I’ve always loved colorful crochet pieces and admired the work others produced in beautiful colorways. I just didn’t wish to work with more than just a few colors spaced out at quite large intervals, so it’d be easier to sow in the ends. Then, I came across Edie Eckart’s tip, which I really liked 🙂 In her “Connect the Shapes Crochet Motifs: Creative Techniques for Joining Motifs of All Shapes”, she advises:

“Instead of letting the Fear and Dread of Multiple Ends keep you from using all the colors of yarn you desire, think of the task as just another important step in making the best possible project you can. Consider the satisfaction you get from a just-mown lawn…Take pride in the tidiness and colorfulness of your amazing work!”

“The Fear and Dread of Multiple Ends”! Is that what it is?! 🙂 She pinned down the feelings that, apparently, have been keeping me from taking on patterns more elaborate in terms of color. So, now that I know it’s a fear, I decide to face it to overcome it 🙂 I pick up a bunch of colors and get started. I start small:

Crochet-Flower-JAYGO

Then expand as follows 🙂

Crochet-Color-Wheel-JAYGO

The next thing I know, I’m sitting there weaving away, sewing in those multiple colorful ends of the Bird of Paradise motif 🙂 [I found the project info through a blogger, Elzeblaadje, who posted a lovely motif she’s crocheted for her blanket.] I WAYGO-ed 🙂 and it made a huge difference! Weave-in-as-you-go slows the work down in a way, but it really makes the process more efficient.

Look how clean the back of my Frida’s Flower is 🙂

Crochet-Motif-Bird-of-Paradise-Back

And how do you feel about multi-color projects? 🙂

P.S. I’ve just realized that today is Frida Kahlo’s birthday! The Frida’s Flowers CAL motif designs were inspired by Frida Kahlo. What a coincidence!

Author:

Avid crocheter, enthusiastic knitter, amateur pianist, aspiring artist with an interest in world languages. Crochet & knitting symbol systems - languages more universal than Esperanto :) are my absolute favorite.

Leave a Reply

