Posted in Crochet, Jewelry, Jewelry | Crochet

A Necklace

Today, I’ve been thinking – what was my very first crochet project? How did I get interested in crochet?

I remember, at some point, feeling like having a nice and soft and long and delicate necklace that wasn’t metal or plastic 🙂 Then I thought to myself – what if I’d make one using yarn and tiny glass beads…had no idea how though, I’d never crocheted before 🙂

I looked it up online, and sure enough, there were lots of people out there showing how they make crochet thingies. I found a video that taught how to make a bracelet – which was the closest to the picture of a necklace I had in mind 🙂 I was so thankful to the person who took the time to make an instructional video. I can’t remember exactly what video it was, but it was a mom crocheting things for her kids. The process involved crocheting beads onto a foundation chain. I went out a bought some super thin yarn and a crochet hook. My necklace was slightly different – I placed beads within the chain in one step, not onto the chain in a second step, if you know what I mean.

So, my very first crochet project was a tiny necklace, which I could also wear as a bracelet if I wrapped it around my wrist. It fell apart, though, after about two months, as I hadn’t secured the ends well enough for the type of yarn I used.

Here’s my new Shamrock glass bead necklace, which I’ve made using a 3mm crochet hook:Crochet-Necklace-Shamrock

I hope it serves me longer – I’ve used a different technique to secure the ends this time. I like it how it’s so long, soft, and weightless!

Author:

Avid crocheter, amateur pianist, aspiring artist with an interest in world languages. Crochet symbol system - a language more universal than Esperanto :) is my absolute favorite.

3 thoughts on “A Necklace

Leave a Reply

